Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Contest

2017 Chandler Student Religion Reporting Award finalists announced

Wednesday, June 28, 2017  
Share |

Columbia, Mo — Eleven students were named as finalists for the 2017 Chandler Award for Excellence in Student Religion Reporting.

The award honors students' outstanding faith, values and ethics stories published in campus newspapers and magazines or at general circulation outlets. It is part of the Religion News Association's Annual Awards for Religion Reporting Excellence.

This year's finalists are:

  • Katherine Bracy, Wheaton College
  • Nicole Einbinder & Emily Churchill, Columbia Journalism School
  • Ari Ephraim Feldman, University of Chicago
  • Lauren Jackson, University of Virginia
  • Andrea Januta & Ellen Ioanes, Columbia Graduate School of Journalism
  • Aysha Khan, University of Maryland
  • Caroline Matas, Harvard Divinity School
  • Blake Nelson, University of Missouri-Columbia
  • Myriam Renaud, University of Chicago Divinity School
  • Adela Suliman, Columbia University
  • Jemar Tisby, University of Mississippi

Winners will be revealed Sept. 9, 2017 at the RNA Annual Conference and Awards Banquet in Nashville. They will split a prize purse of $1,050.

For more than a decade the student contest has been made possible through the generosity of the Chandler Legacy Fund in honor of Russell Chandler, former religion writer for the Los Angeles Times, and his wife, ML.



Tiffany McCallen
RNA Chief Operations Officer


Community Search
Sign In

Latest News