Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Contest

Winners named in 2018 RNA Awards for Religion Reporting Excellence

Saturday, September 15, 2018  
Share |

COLUMBUS, Ohio. ­– Religion reporters from around the world won top honors Saturday, Sept. 15, at the Religion News Association’s 69th Annual Awards Banquet.

Ann Rodgers, formerly of the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette, was presented with the William A. Reed Lifetime Achievement Award for her exceptional long-term commitment and service to the field of religion reporting.

Kimberly Winston, formerly of Religion News Service, won first place for Excellence in Religion Reporting—Large Newspapers and Wire Services. Gerry Shih of The Associated Press won second place. Third place was awarded to Peter Smith of the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette.

Peggy Fletcher Stack of The Salt Lake Tribune won the Cornell Award for Excellence in Religion Reporting—Mid-sized Newspapers. Tim Funk of the Charlotte Observer won second place.

First place for Cassels Award for Excellence in Religion Reporting—Small Newspapers went to Hillary Davis of the Daily Pilot / Times OC.

In the Award for Excellence in Religion Reporting—Online-only News Outlets, first place was awarded to Hannah Allam of BuzzFeed News. Jack Jenkins of Think Progress came in second place. Third place went to Elizabeth Eisenstadt Evans of Global Sisters Report, with Krithika Varagur of Voice of America receiving an honorable mention.

First place in the Supple Award for Excellence in Religion Feature Writing went to The Washington Post’s Sarah Pulliam Bailey. Kathy Gannon of The Associated Press placed second and John Blake of CNN received third place.

Aymann Ismail of Slate Magazine received first place in the Gerald A. Renner Award for Excellence in Enterprise Religion Reporting. Gerry Shih of The Associated Press won second place. Third place was awarded to The Philadelphia Inquirer’s Maria Panaritis with an honorable mention being awarded to Tiffany Stanley of The New Republic.

First place for Excellence in Religion Commentary went to Amy Sullivan of Yahoo and The New York Times. Second place was awarded to Thomas Reese of the Religion News Service. Brian Kaylor of Word & Way placed third, with Joshua Hammerman of The Washington Post, J.T.A. and New York Jewish Week and Jeff Chu of Modern Farmer and Religion News Service receiving honorable mention.

The Schachern Award for Excellence in Online Religion Sections was awarded to the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette, edited by Peter Smith.

First place for Excellence in Religion News Analysis was awarded to Emma Green of The Atlantic. Second place went to Tom Verde of The New York Times, Politico, and the Religion News Service. Sarah Pulliam Bailey of The Washington Post placed third, with freelancer Krithika Varagur receiving honorable mention.

Tom Roberts of the National Catholic Reporter placed first in the award for Excellence in Magazine and Non-Daily News Religion Reporting. Elizabeth Dias of TIME placed second, and Christianity Today’s Bob Smietana took third place.

The award for Excellence in Magazine Overall Religion Coverage went to Andy Olsen, Alecia Sharp, Jeremy Weber, Sarah Gordon, Matt Reynolds and Ted Olsen of Christianity Today.

First place for Excellence in Radio or Podcast Religion Reporting went to Anita Hofschneider, Jessica Terrell, Emily Dugdale and April Estrellon of Civil Beat. Michael Conforti, Rashed Mian, Jed Morey and Christopher Twarowski of News Beat placed second. Third place was awarded to Stella M. Chavez of KERA News.

For the Excellence in Short Religion Video Award, first place was awarded to JP Keenan, Jenna Barnett and Betsy Shirley of Sojourners. Courtney Hergesheimer of The Columbus Dispatch won second place.

Scott Pelley, Oriana Zill, Michael Rey, Dina Zingaro, Jorge Garcia of CBS 60 Minutes received first place in Excellence in Television News Magazine Religion Reporting, with Catie Beck, Matthew Vann, Sarah Talent, Hannah Van Winkle, Molly Paul of NBC Sunday Today receiving honorable mention.

The award for Excellence in Nation Network / Cable News Religion Reporting went to Walter Ratliff of The Associated Press.

Josh Robin of NY1 News received first place for Excellence in Television Local News Religion Reporting.

The award for first place in Photography: Single Image went to Kit Doyle. Second place went to Nuccio DiNuzzo of the Chicago Tribune.

In the Photo Series category, KC McGinnis received first place. Alexandra Radu was awarded second place, with Nate Guidry of the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette Kit Doyle receiving honorable mention.

The first place award for Excellence in Nonfiction Religion Book was presented to Andrew Johnson for “If I Give My Soul: Faith Behind Bars in Rio de Janeiro.” Second place went to Richard Elliott Friedman for “The Exodus” and third place was awarded to R. Marie Griffith for “Moral Combat: How Sex Divided American Christians and Fractured American Politics.”

In the Chandler Award for Excellence in Student Religion Reporting, Paulina Cachero of the University of Southern California. In second place was Lauren Jackson of Oxford University. Rachel Cohrs of The Atlantic, Southern California Public Radio and The GroundTruth Project won third place, with Vildana Hajric and Isobel van Hagen of Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism receiving honorable mention. Russell and M.L. Chandler generously fund the Chandler Award, a student journalism contest.





Tiffany McCallen

Sponsored Notices

Community Search
Sign In


9/24/2020 » 9/25/2020
2020 RNA Annual Conference (Virtual)

Latest News