Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Member News

Tennessean's Holly Meyer joins RNA Board

Thursday, November 7, 2019  
Share |

Members recently elected Holly Meyer, the Tennessean's religion reporter, to serve as its 11th board member. Meyer was elected during the member meeting at RNA's 70th Annual Conference in Las Vegas this September.


"Holly Meyer is an outstanding and accomplished journalist who finds compelling religion stories in settings ranging from crime scenes to country music to Catholic Masses in football-stadium parking lots," said RNA President Peter Smith. "She's taken a leading role in planning successful RNA conferences, and we are thrilled she is joining us on the RNA board."

Meyer covers religion for The Tennessean, the daily newspaper in Nashville, Tenn. Her stories regularly appear in USA TODAY and other publications across the USA TODAY NETWORK. During her decade-long career as a professional journalist, Holly also has covered religion and breaking news for newspapers in Wisconsin and South Dakota.

"I am excited to be a part of the RNA board and give back to an organization that has given me so much," said Meyer. "I look forward to working alongside my colleagues to ensure that RNA continues to be a brilliant and beloved resource for journalists for many years to come.”

Members also elected several temporary appointees to their first three-year terms, including:

  • Jack Gordon, Interfaith-ish, Takoma Radio
  • Dawn Araujo-Hawkins, Christian Century, Vice President
  • Deepa Bharath, Southern California News Group, Secretary
  • Dina Zingaro, CBS News

Smith, Pittsburgh Post-Gazette, was elected to his final three-year term.

Rounding out the board are: Betsy Shirley, Sojourners, Vice President; Ken Chitwood, Freelance, Treasurer; Manya Brachear Pashman, Freelance/AJC; Jeff Diamant, Pew Research; and Elaine Justice, Emory University.

The board would like to extend its thanks and gratitude for the service of members who recently resigned due to work and life commitments — Kate Shellnutt and Simran Jeet Singh.

Danae King of The Columbus Dispatch has been nominated for the board and will be up for a member vote later this year.


Sponsored Notices

Community Search
Sign In


9/24/2020 » 9/25/2020
2020 RNA Annual Conference (Virtual)

Latest News